Friday, October 31, 2014

Winning is Better Than Losing

Steve Letarte and Dale Earnhardt Jr. enjoy a fourth visit to # NASCAR Victory Lane this season
Steve Letarte and Dale Earnhardt Jr. enjoy a fourth visit to Victory Lane this season
(Photo: Getty Images)

Steve Letarte summarized it up nicely on Sirius XM NASCAR Radio’s “The Morning Drive” this week: Winning is Better Than Losing!

"It’s simple, and this is going to sound funny, but this is the quote we all talked about in Martinsville and this is our new mantra and it’s winning is better than losing. If you’re gonna go and you’re gonna spend the time and money and effort….do it right or don’t do it at all. Winning is better than losing, that’s what we figured it out and there’s three more to go and our goal is to win all three.”

Letarte, who will be leaving Hendrick Motorsports after the 2014 season to become an analyst for NBC Sports added,

 “It was a great day, a hard-fought day. Beating and banging all throughout the field. I think we saw more catastrophic style crashes. You see a lot of sliding around here, but today we saw more serious crashes than we have ever seen. That is what the sport has created. It's stressful. It's high pressure. It's what we want. It was exciting to come out on top.”

Harvick to drive in his 500th
#NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Competition

A video posted by Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick) on

Kevin Harvick, who just sold his 110.5 acres adjacent to his North Carolina estate for $3.2 million, is set to make his 500th Cup start.  Harvick, a NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase driver,  is scheduled to make his historic career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) start in Sunday's AAA Texas 500 race at Texas.

In the midst of his 14th season in the series, Harvick has earned 26 wins, 111 top fives, 226 top-10 finishes and 14 pole awards. This weekend the #4 Budweiser Chevy will feature a special 500th start logo on the hood, under the right taillight and on the base of the b-post in recognition of the milestone. In addition, the hashtag #TexasToast appears on the car's decklid (Budweiser Racing).

A photo posted by Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick) on

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

The Cutest Pit Crew Member Ever!

The Cutest Pit Crew Member Ever!

Carter McMurray, son of NASCAR driver Jamie McMurray, steals the spotlight during an interview with the No. 1 driver at Martinsville


Waltrip Dances Into Next Round

Waltrip Dances Into Next Round

Michael Waltrip and dancing partner Emma Slater earn a 36/40 after their rendition of "The Devil Went Down to Georgia" by Charlie Daniels on DWTS.


Sunday, October 26, 2014

Wallace a Winner!

Darrell Wallace, Jr., driver of the #34 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductee
Wendell Scott Toyota, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning
the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Kroger 200 *

Bubba Wallace (Darrell Wallace, Jr. born October 8, 1993 in Mobile, Alabama), is a development driver for Joe Gibbs Racing. He currently competes in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, driving the No. 54 Toyota for Kyle Busch Motorsports. He is third in the point’s standings and well within striking distance, being only twenty-two points behind the series leader. With three races remaining in the season, Bubba leads the series in 2014 wins with three trips to victory lane.

The headlines shriek the news that Bubba won another clock trophy in Martinsville. Wallace led 97 of the 200 laps and started the race from pole.

Wendell Scott **
What makes this win just a tad more notable is the fact that the African-American driver won the Kroger 200 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race in a #34 tribute car to NASCAR Hall of Fame 2015 inductee, Wendell Scott.

Just in case you are not a NASCAR Nut and unaware, Wendell Scott, who died in 1990 was the first of his race to become a full-time competitor in what is now known as the Sprint Cup Series. From the age of thirty-nine to the age of fifty-one, Scott competed in four hundred and ninety-five races.

Wendell Scott’s historic win came on December 1, 1963 at Speedway Park in Jacksonville, Florida. He won the hundred-mile feature race after starting fifteenth.

(L-R) Sybil Scott, Janis Davis, Wendell Scott, Cheryl Ashley and Frank Scott pose
with Darrell Wallace, Jr. (3rdL), driver of the #34 2015 NASCAR
Hall of Fame Inductee Wendell Scott Toyota ***

Of his win yesterday, Wallace exclaimed excitedly, “That was so fun. Martinsville is my favorite place to come to. Without the support of NASCAR and Toyota… the whole Wendell Scott family is here and this is a special moment, just a perfect weekend for us. It's a true honor to have Wendell Scott on our Toyota Tundra and to be able to put it in Victory Lane. I know he (Scott) just said up there, 'Hell yeah.' This is cool."

Darrell Wallace, Jr.’s family has always been there to support him also. His father, Darrell Sr., is Caucasian, and his mother, Desiree, is African American. They have both worked diligently to provide their son opportunities, both financially and emotionally, during his accelerated rise through the NASCAR racing ranks. During that journey, the Wallace family was no stranger to the bigoted views of the small-minded.

When his son was just fourteen years old and running late models in North Carolina, Darrell Sr. heard an official describe his son as "that n----- kid." Wallace Sr., calmly approached the official and asked, "Did you forget my son's name?"

Wallace, Jr. poses with the Keystone Light Pole award ****
While the younger Darrell Wallace doesn’t want to be known as an African-American driver, but he does like the ability to open minds and help NASCAR become more diverse.

When he hosted the NASCAR Instagram account at the 2014 Black Entertainment Television (BET) Awards, Wallace had to field some racist posts. He did so without anger.

“I moved on and enjoyed the show. … Kill them with kindness, that’s all you’ve got to do. There’s no point in calling anybody out; that would be a never-ending process.” Wallace responded.

In previous interviews, Bubba has made it clear that while he accepts the responsibility of being one of the first African-American NASCAR Drivers; he want his legacy to be measure by his driving talent. If you have any doubt about his sincerity and capability of that goal, please re-read the first two paragraphs.

* * * * * * * 

Desiree, Bubba and Darrell Sr.
This writer anxiously awaits the epoch when athletes are no longer describe by their ancestry but by their dedication, heart, and talent.

When that happens, NASCAR Race Mom will still be reporting on Darrell “Bubba” Wallace, Jr.

Darrell Sr. and Desiree Wallace did an awesome job raising a winner.

*Photo Credit: Sarah Glenn/NASCAR via Getty Images
**Photo Credit:
***Photo Credit: Brian Lawdermilk/NASCAR via Getty Images
****Photo Credit: Sarah Glenn/NASCAR via Getty Images
*****Photo Credit: Marty Tyler via

Saturday, October 25, 2014